skip navigation

News Archive 2008

Gilman Program Names Top Recipient Institutions

The University of Arkansas has been named one of the Top Recipient Institutions for Fall 2008. Seven UofA students received the Gilman Scholarship this year, ranking the University of Arkansas 9th in the nation for receiving this prestigious scholarship.

Posted August 5, 2008 at 9:49 AM by Web Administrator

Three University of Arkansas Students Named as Goldwater Scholars

For the sixth consecutive year, three University of Arkansas students have been awarded prestigious Barry M. Goldwater Scholarships. Rachel Thomas of Fort Smith, Whitney Gammill of Maumelle and Jordan Greenlee of Oak Ridge, Tenn., are among 321 students in the nation to be named Goldwater Scholars. They will each receive a $7,500 scholarship. All three are juniors and students in the university Honors College.

Posted April 3, 2008 at 11:24 AM by Web Administrator

UA Student Chosen as Truman Scholar

Olivia Meeks of Hot Springs is the latest University of Arkansas student chosen as a Truman Scholar by the members of the Truman Scholarship Foundation. Meeks is an Honors College Fellow, Economics Honors Scholar and a senior majoring in economics and political science in the J. William Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences.

"Olivia Meeks has more than earned this honor through her strong intellect, her hard work, her wide-ranging interests and her boundless energy," said Chancellor John A. White. "Her academic accomplishments are obvious, but she has also demonstrated a passion for applying what she's learning to her community and to the world. Olivia is an outstanding example of what an Arkansas student can accomplish with an education at the University of Arkansas."

Posted March 26, 2008 at 8:00 AM by Web Administrator

Research Opportunity for Honors Undergraduates

The HERMES program, a collaborative effort between the Honors College and the Environmental Dynamics Program (ENDY), is now taking applications.

This is a paid position that allows Honors College undergraduates to work as research assistants for ENDY and Biological Science PhD candidates. Applicants that are selected will receive a stipend in the amount of $4,400 plus funding for travel and conferences over a 9-month period. It should be stressed that travel will be required due to the fact that many of the research projects occur out of state.

Two meetings will be held next week for any students that are interested in earning money while doing research.

For more information, check out the HERMES website or contact Dr. Stephen K. Boss at or John Dennis at

Posted February 25, 2008 at 9:41 AM by Web Administrator

Extended Deadline for Prestigious Fellowships

Due to inclement weather and school closings, the post-mark deadline for Prestigious Fellowships is now February 4, 2008. Please note that the online registration will only be available until 5:00 pm on February 4.

Posted February 1, 2008 at 9:08 AM by Web Administrator

Subscribe to RSS via e-mail
You can now subscribe to HNRC news, deadlines, and blogs via e-mail. Check out our RSS Feeds.

Posted January 11, 2008 at 9:55 AM by Web Administrator

Dr. Bodenhamer to be inducted

Dr. Lee Bodenhamer will be inducted into the Arkansas Business Hall of Fame on February 8, 2008.

Posted January 10, 2008 at 4:13 PM by Web Administrator