Jamie Hestekin

 Jamie Hestekin, associate professor of chemical engineering and holder of the Jim L. Turpin Professorship in Chemical and Biochemical Separations in the College of Engineering. Hestekin’s quest to produce biofuels from algae has sparked keen interest among numerous honors students. He and his team of undergraduate engineering students recently won recognition as co-winners of Planet Forward’s Innovator of the Year in a contest that aired on public television stations around the country.

Hestekin has mentored 22 honors students working on their theses, and partnered with more than 25 honors students on grant-funded projects. He teaches the honors section of the Design II lab, in which students submit their work in competitions, and has published three papers and one book chapter coauthored with honors students.

Hestekin has won numerous teaching awards, including, most recently, the John L. White Convocation Award in 2010 and the University of Arkansas Most Outstanding Faculty Member in 2011.